Membership of the Dental Council

- 3.1 Under section 4 of the Dentists Registration Ordinance, all 12 members of the Dental Council are appointed by the Chief Executive. The Council is made up of 9 registered dentists, along with 2 medical practitioners and a lay member. The composition is as follows -
 - (a) the Registrar (the consultant dental surgeon in charge of the Dental Service of the Department of Health):
 - (b) a consultant dental surgeon of the Dental Service of the Department of Health:
 - (c) a registered dentist, who is a fulltime member of the teaching staff of the Faculty of Dentistry of the University of Hong Kong;
 - (d) 2 medical practitioners;
 - (e) 6 registered dentists qualified to be registered and appointed -
 - i) from a panel of not less than 12 such registered dentists nominated by the Hong Kong Dental Association; or
 - ii) in the event of the Hong Kong Dental Association failing to nominate at least 12 such registered dentists, at the discretion of the Chief Executive;
 and
 - (f) 1 lay member.

3.2 The membership of the Council is as follow -

Dr Tsang Yick-sang, Jeffrey, MBE (Chairman)

Dr Chan Cho-yee, Joseph, JP (Registrar)

Dr Lee Kwing-hong, JP

Professor Anne Sinclair McMillan

Professor Ip Sau-man, Mary

Dr Tse Tak-fu (up to 31.5.2005)

Dr Fan Yun-sun, Susan (since 1.6.2005)

Dr Chan Kin-keung, Eugene

Dr Esmonde Francis Corbet

Dr Fok Ka-hang, Tony

Dr Leung Ting-on, David

Dr Wong Tin-chun (up to 30.9.2005)

Dr Tso Wei-kwok, Homer, BBS, JP (since 1.10.2005)

Ms Kong Yuen-hoong, Helen

The Council's Legal Adviser is Mr Chan Chor-chak, Charles, and its Secretary is Ms Wong Yuk-king, Daisy (up to 23.10. 2005) and Miss Leung Shun-chee, Evelyn (since 8.11.2005).