## 3 Membership of the Council

- 3.1 Under section 4 of the Dentists
  Registration Ordinance, all twelve
  members of the Council are
  appointed by the Chief Executive. The
  Council is made up of 9 registered
  dentists, along with a lay member and
  2 medical practitioners. Its
  composition is as follows:-
  - (a) the Registrar (the consultant dental surgeon in charge of the Dental Service of the Department of Health);
  - (b) a consultant dental surgeon of the Dental Service of the Department of Health;
  - (c) a registered dentist, who is a fulltime member of the teaching staff of the Faculty of Dentistry of the University of Hong Kong, nominated by the University of Hong Kong;
  - (d) 2 medical practitioners;
  - (e) 6 registered dentists qualified to be registered and appointed:
    - (i) from a panel of not less than 12 such registered dentists nominated by the Hong Kong Dental Association; or
    - (ii) in the event of the Hong Kong Dental Association failing to nominate at least 12 such registered dentists, at the discretion of the Chief Executive; and
  - (f) 1 lay member.

3.2 The membership of the Council is as follows:-

Dr Tsang Yick-sang, Jeffrey, MBE (Chairman)

Dr Elizabeth Lim Kwan, JP (Registrar) (up to 31.1.2004)

Dr Chan Cho-yee, Joseph (Registrar) (since 1.2.2004)

Dr Lee Kwing-hong

Professor Anne Sinclair McMillan

Professor Leung Nai-kong, BBS, MBE, JP (up to 30.9.2004)

Professor Ip Sau-man, Mary (since 1.10.2004)

Dr Tse Tak-fu

Dr Chan Kin-keung, Eugene

**Dr Esmonde Francis Corbet** 

Dr Lai Ying-wah, Patrick (up to 30.9.2004)

Dr Fok Ka-hang, Tony (since 1.10.2004)

Dr Leung Ting-on, David

Dr Wong Tin-chun

Ms Kong Yuen-hoong, Helen

The Council's Legal Adviser is Mr Chan Chor-chak, Charles, and its Secretary is Ms Wong Yuk-king, Daisy.