Credentials Committee

- 7.1 Apart from the Preliminary Investigation Committee, the Examination Committee and Board of Examiners which assist the Council to discharge its statutory functions, there are at present two other standing committees established under the Dental Council, namely the Credentials Committee and the Continuing Medical Education Accreditation Committee.
- 7.2 The primary function of the Credentials Committee is to uphold academic standards. It assesses applications for registration of additional qualifications and makes recommendations to the Council. It also performs the same function regarding applications for the use of Specialist Titles.
- 7.3 The membership of the Credentials Committee is as follows: -

Prof. Anne Sinclair McMillan (Chairman)

Dr Chan Kin-keung, Eugene

Dr Fok Ka-hang, Tony (since 8.10.2004)

Dr Lai Ying-wah, Patrick (up to 30.9.2004)

Dr Leung Ting-on, David

Dr Yan Sik-wing, JP (Co-opted Member)

7.4 In 2004, the Credentials Committee recommended and the Dental Council approved the use of a new specialist title "Specialist in Family Dentistry". The seven specialist titles recognized by the Council are as below: -

Specialist in Orthodontics

Specialist in Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery

Specialist in Periodontology

Specialist in Endodontics

Specialist in Paediatric Dentistry

Specialist in Prosthodontics

Specialist in Family Dentistry

